Lutheran World Federation tenth assembly

July 21, 2003

Founded in 1947, the Lutheran World Federation (LWF) is a global communion of Christian churches in the Lutheran tradition. The LWF acts on behalf of its church members in areas of common interest, including ecumenical relations, theology, humanitarian assistance, international affairs and human rights, communication, and mission and development work. Today, the LWF has 136 member churches in 76 countries, representing more than 61.7 million of the world's 65.4 million Lutherans. Every six years, the Lutheran World Federation holds an Assembly that functions as its highest decision-making body. The Lutheran World Federation Tenth Assembly will be held in Winnipeg between July 21 and 31, an event marked by Canada Post with the issue of a single domestic rate ($0.48) stamp. This special commemorative stamp is available to collectors in a pane of 16.

The theme for the Tenth Assembly is 'For the Healing of the World,' inspired by the words in Revelation 22:2 "… and the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations." A related logo was designed, displaying a broken landscape set against a cross and an olive branch. The LWF explains that the "cross implies movement. One of the leaves is leaning over the earth, while the others are reaching toward the sky as a sign of creation and healing." The logo was designed by two artists from Regina, Saskatchewan. Erik Norbraten is an art director and graphic artist. Richard Nostbakken is a teacher and works as an independent artist. It is expected that the Assembly, hosted by the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada, will have an attendance of more than 442 delegates from LWF member churches, along with representatives from congregations and related agencies, ecumenical guests, journalists, interpreters, volunteers and visitors.

The first Lutheran worship service in North America took place in 1619 near Churchill, Manitoba, but it wasn't until the 18th century that the first Lutheran settlement in Canada arose - in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada has its national offices in Winnipeg, and membership is estimated to be approximately 189,000.

Designed by Pierre Fontaine of Longueuil, Quebec, the LWF stamp features the Tenth Assembly logo surrounded by a background grid incorporating the name and location of this event. A graduate of Montreal's Institut des Arts Graphiques, Fontaine established his own shop in 1997. His stamp credits include Roger Lemelin (2000); Gratien Gélinas (2000); Quebec Bar Association (1999); Mary Travers (1994); Billy Bishop (1994); Birds of Canada (set of 4) (1986); Philippe Aubert de Gaspé, (1986); Jules Léger (1982); Paul-Émile Borduas (1981); and Marc-Aurèle Fortin (1981).

Pane of 16 stamps

Pane of 16 stamps


  • Product #: 403545107
  • Denomination: 1 x 48¢
  • Design: Pierre Fontaine
  • Dimensions: 32 mm x 36.5 mm (vertical)
  • Printer: Lowe-Martin
  • Printing Process: Lithography in 7 colours
  • Quantity: 3,000,000
  • Gum Type: P.V.A.
  • Perforations: 13+
  • Tagging: General, 4 sides
  • Paper Type: Tullis Russell Coatings
  • OFDC Cancellation Location: Winnipeg MB
Official First Day Cover

Official First Day Cover


  • Product #: 403545121
  • OFDC Cancellation Location: Winnipeg MB